mahai
mahai
11/27/10 12:39 a.m.

Hi folks, I'm new to car renovation but I have always loved the Alfa Romeo Veloce and/or 2000. I'm also a big fan of the MGB.

In your opinion, which one do you think I should tackle for my first car? Which one is easier to work on? How about parts availability? Costs? Support? Etc.?

Thanks for your input!

MaHai

redstack
redstack New Reader
11/27/10 12:42 a.m.

In reply to mahai:

seems to me that Classic Motorsports did a good article on this, I believe it's online at their site..

I recently drove a friends beater mgb and had to admit that it was kind of fun, this from a guy with a supercharged miata.. No comparison but still fun in a tractor make it work sort of way.

I'd like to test out an Alfa to compare.

BobOfTheFuture
BobOfTheFuture HalfDork
11/27/10 12:49 a.m.

You can build a new MGB from 2 catalogues, Moss Motors and Victoria-British.

I live in NY and any tune up part was a day away by mail. Some heavier parts, but not many, were 4 days away, shipped from cali by Moss.

I found that many parts were run by mom and pop parts stores. You can find out online how to run a Saturn alt on the MGB motor, super easy mod.

I dont know Alfa's but my vote is MG

oldtin
oldtin HalfDork
11/27/10 2:17 a.m.

Alfas are secksier - MGs are easier. Sills are the toughest rust fix on an MG - not that they're difficult - it's a well documented fix. They made half a million MGBs - so that one gets the nod on most survivors - cheapness and a good sized community They can also do well in vintage racing - E production I think.

aeronca65t
aeronca65t Dork
11/27/10 5:10 a.m.

Both nice cars, but , as stated, MGs are far more common. And even the tricky repairs are well-documented. I can get a lot of my MG parts at Autozone.

I've driven both and they're both fun (if in decent shape). I have a slight preference for the MG even though it is more primitive. Maybe because it's also a bit lighter.

~This~ in mine.

ddavidv
ddavidv SuperDork