LanEvo
LanEvo GRM+ Memberand Dork
12/13/21 1:48 a.m.

I've been racing an oddball car for many years ( build thread here ). I plan to keep the Mercedes forever, but I'd like to race something more mainstream so I can compete in larger fields.

I've come across a bunch of 944 builds for sale. As a child of the '80s, the 944 and 951 were dream cars for me. There's a 944S I'm looking at that has had lots of success in SCCA ITS and Pro-IT. I'd like to get into SCCA racing, but my Mercedes doesn't really fit anywhere. I know NASA has a Spec944 class, the PCA has some classes for them, and there's also the 944 Cup. So, there would be a few options.

Any love for this platform? Seems like I'll have a bunch of places to race with a car like this.

LanEvo
12/13/21 2:03 a.m.

Forgot to ask: how does a normally aspirated 944 keep up with modern lap traffic? As far as I can tell, they're around 2700 lbs with 190hp and modest 225/50/15 rubber. On paper, that looks slower than an E30 M3.

Also, how is parts availability? One reason I'm looking for another racecar is because it's getting hard to find engines and transmissions for the 190E Cosworth. The supply of LSD diffs is already zero. Half-shafts are NLA as well. I'm jealous of E36 guys who can break stuff and be back on track the next weekend. I'd like to save the Mercedes for special events like the big vintage racing festivals and have something less "precious" for endurance racing, HPDE, etc. 

jh36
jh36 Dork
12/13/21 6:09 a.m.

I raced 944 na's for decades. The spec class is extremely popular in many parts of the country. 
The car is a joy to drive at the limit. Set up well, it's incredible. 
If you don't want to race pure spec, ST 6 or 5 are good options with NASA. It is very competitive in class. I hold the track record at Summit Point in ST6 and Ed Higginbotham holds the record at VIR in the same car. 
parts are still easily available but getting a bit pricier.