1 2 3 4
glueguy
glueguy GRM+ Memberand Reader
2/15/12 4:23 p.m.

I found an "F" car for a new-Camry price and lots of service records. I'd like to talk here or off-line with someone that actually owns one and has some practical experience. I would be ok understanding that clutch or engine work is off limits to a DIY, but things that would be typical old used car - say a power window motor or a fuel pump - are these feasible (including parts prices) for someone to fix at home?

DukeOfUndersteer
DukeOfUndersteer SuperDork
2/15/12 4:30 p.m.

which model? I have some knowledge with Ferrari thru my dad. I can try and guide you thru

Taiden
Taiden SuperDork
2/15/12 4:33 p.m.

Pshhh, who says you can't do the drivetrain work? This is GRM! We can make anything work!

DrBoost
DrBoost SuperDork
2/15/12 4:35 p.m.

Yeah, if the clutch is too expensive, drop in an LSX
I think it really depends on the model. I've heard (there I go again, spouting internet wisdom again) that the 308 is DIY friendly.

Conquest351
Conquest351 Dork
2/15/12 4:40 p.m.

Honestly, if you go to FerrariChat, I found my visit there to be quite pleasant. Asking questions seems to get quite a few knowledgeable answers. Can't hurt to head over there and compare notes. I haven't been back because my damn computer died at home and most of the threads I visit there get to be NSFW. LOL

EDT
EDT New Reader
2/15/12 4:45 p.m.

I have a F355 GTS but haven't had to do done much to it yet. Some parts can be sourced from different manufacturers for much less than a factory part, so that can be nice. I'd also recommend FerrariChat for more in depth info. What model did you find?

BoxheadTim
BoxheadTim GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
2/15/12 4:47 p.m.

"Which model" is probably the key question, although Camry money hints at 308 GT4, 308/328 or 348. Or a Mondial, I keep forgetting about those even though I nearly went and looked at one last year.