1 2
Jensenman
Jensenman SuperDork
8/22/08 9:19 a.m.

Like these:

http://www.speedwaymotors.com/p/1205,366_QA1-Adjustable-Shock.html

They are single adjustable for rebound, the compression damping has to be changed by revalving. The price is pretty darn good, though.

Good, bad indifferent?

Gimp
Gimp GRM+ Memberand Dork
8/22/08 9:41 a.m.

I was always told they were a great drag shock, but not for handling. I have no direct experience with them.

Jensenman
Jensenman SuperDork
8/22/08 10:25 a.m.

Yeah, I was always told the same thing. Then, IIRC, Carrerra bought QA1 (or maybe it was the other way around?) and i was wondering if any Carrerra DNA found its way into QA1 shocks.

They have a double adjustable as well, it's just not in Speedway's catalog. QA1 says they can be revalved for just about any application and they are a damn sight less expensive than KONIs or etc.

Monkeywrench
Monkeywrench New Reader
8/22/08 10:38 a.m.

QA1 bught Carrera. From what I have seen, they are a suitable replacement/upgrade to older Carrera's. They can be built with any valving you desire (from MANY different shock "tuners") and from what I've seen they hold up great. They work great in road racing, but they're most popular with the circle track folk.

Keith
Keith GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
8/22/08 10:57 a.m.

I've been working with AFCO a lot - a direct QA1 competitor, I believe - and I'm a big fan of their stuff. Never tried QA1.

Winston
Winston New Reader
8/22/08 2:56 p.m.

Several of the Locost guys have chosen the QA1's for their cars -- Keith being a notable exception. You might search at locostusa.com and read opinions. I don't recall anything abnormally negative about them off the top of my head.

Travis_K
Travis_K New Reader
8/22/08 3:10 p.m.

Im not sure if it was correct, but I remember reading somewhere that the way the adjustment worked was not really on the same level as other better quality shocks. Im sure they arent too bad though.

Keith
8/22/08 4:02 p.m.