Idriveslow
Idriveslow None
12/23/11 11:26 p.m.

Hey All, I'm a Noob here. I just picked up a used/good shape Nissan.

I remember that GRM had an article or something on how to do a basic 50 cent or cheap way of doing the same thing that Mass Market companies charge $100+ for.

Anyone can lead me to the article or post, or simply put up the directions for everyone? Seems like a cheap/easy HP upgrade and also making the car safer overall/more reliable. The Nissan is supposed to have a pretty good grounding strap, but it IS a mid-90's car.......

Any directions/help AND expected HP gains or Torque gains would be appreciated. Just killing some of the extra RF frequency noise for the planned audiophile grade setup I have half of already sitting in my closet would be great. Always had a buzz/vibration in my last ridiculously loud setup. I just want my subwoofer system to work better.

TIA

IDS

Taiden
Taiden Dork
12/23/11 11:54 p.m.

Nissan? Reground that MAF!

Also, check out my write up for a Subaru.

Fun fact, many Subaru parts have Nissan stamps on them.

http://www.rs25.com/forums/f72/t133111-my-proof-diy-grounding-kits-work.html

Brett_Murphy
Brett_Murphy GRM+ Memberand Dork
12/24/11 12:17 p.m.

I was just thinking about this.

Not only does GRM have the ability to answer almost any question, sometimes they answer questions you have not even asked yet.

Thanks, Taiden.

dean1484
dean1484 GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
12/24/11 12:26 p.m.
Taiden wrote: Nissan? Reground that MAF! Also, check out my write up for a Subaru. Fun fact, many Subaru parts have Nissan stamps on them. http://www.rs25.com/forums/f72/t133111-my-proof-diy-grounding-kits-work.html

I have done a similar mod to my FC and it really helped. The car stopped eating alternators and starters.

To add a little more info / tech. I found that coating the freshly cleaned areas and the ends of the new ground cables with dielectric grease keeps things from oxidizing keeping the contact points in good shape.