noddaz
noddaz GRM+ Memberand New Reader
5/5/11 10:32 a.m.

Looking for a 4 door Maxima sized appliance for my Wife as a daily driver......
As always cost is a factor in these trying times. And must be auto trans. So how are "other" manufactures for reliability and ease of maintainability? Cars like KIA, Hyundai, Mitsubishi.... Thanks for any input...

integraguy
integraguy Dork
5/5/11 10:44 a.m.

If you are shoopping the "other" brands, I'd go Mitsu, Hyundai, then Kia...in that order. From what I can tell, tho I have no first hand experience, the automatic in a Galant will outlast the automatic in a Mazda, and the engine is decent too. (At the lower price point that you are looking in, it's the transmission that is mostly the weak link.) If I remember correctly, the Sonata's rep is kind of spotty, but the Elantra's isn't too bad, but you said you wanted a Maxima-sized car. Kia Optima? Similar reliability to Sonata, due to same parts, but cheaper to buy...also a bit uglier in some years....but that's in the eye of the beholder.

noddaz
5/5/11 11:00 a.m.
racinginc215 wrote: Malibu

Really? Anyone else back that one up...?

I guess I should also clarify that it should not scare me if the car has 100k miles on it... So I guess I am looking for a full sized car that still has 80k miles left in it and is cheap... Not asking much, am I?

Cole_Trickle
Cole_Trickle New Reader
5/5/11 11:14 a.m.

Fusion.

I do really love mine as a DD.

jstein77
jstein77 Dork
5/5/11 11:30 a.m.

Mazda6 - Only 17K miles

pres589
pres589 Dork
5/5/11 11:41 a.m.

Rat-rod Q45.

tuna55
tuna55 SuperDork
5/5/11 11:45 a.m.

My wife's PT Cruiser has been fantastic. Really. Girls generally like the looks of them too, and you can haul serious stuff with the rear seats folded down, too. Parts are dirt cheap.

fast_eddie_72
fast_eddie_72 Dork
5/5/11 11:56 a.m.