5/24/16 12:23 p.m.

Dad sent me a video link to this.

http://www.autolift3000.com/en/produkty/autolift-3000/

I was like, "Great success!! I lift car! Very nice!"

petegossett
petegossett GRM+ Memberand UltimaDork
5/24/16 12:46 p.m.

In reply to Harvey:

The vid for it has popped up on Facebook several times the last few days. I'm intrigued by it, but concerned about the engineering. For example, the pin in the tube to hold the car up at rest - I'm no engineer, but that appears to be pretty thin-walled tubing, and I imagine with use it will become ovaled-out...at what point would it then fail and split the tube? I don't want to be the one to find that out!

Stefan (Not Bruce)
Stefan (Not Bruce) GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
5/24/16 1:05 p.m.

It works like a huge screw jack and the pin keeps you from running the winder one way or another. The pin isn't there to hold the car up.

The tilt part can likely be resolved by using jack stands.

Harvey
Harvey GRM+ Memberand Dork
5/24/16 1:05 p.m.

When the thing goes tip one side and tip the other I was like, what keeps someone from accidentally tipping that thing on top of me?

Now I'm back to using jack stands. If engrish was a bit better might trust more.

singleslammer
singleslammer UberDork
5/24/16 3:38 p.m.

My wife just sent me this video and asked if I would consider this over a full size lift. My answer was only as a temporary option. I was curious if we had talked about it on here.

Harvey
Harvey GRM+ Memberand Dork
5/24/16 3:54 p.m.

Seems to definitely be trending on FB. They must have paid some money to somebody.

Stefan (Not Bruce)
Stefan (Not Bruce) GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
5/24/16 3:58 p.m.
Harvey wrote: When the thing goes tip one side and tip the other I was like, what keeps someone from accidentally tipping that thing on top of me? Now I'm back to using jack stands. If engrish was a bit better might trust more.

Add holes for locking pins on either side of the pivoting arms and lock it to one side or another.