1 2
DrBoost
DrBoost MegaDork
6/8/21 8:28 p.m.

Ok, planning a large move (is any move small???) and am debating on taking my air compressor and air tools vs selling my compressor and air tools and replacing them with battery operated tools. Here's the things that are going into my decision:

I'm not a professional mechanic anymore, and I don't see myself doing any large project anytime soon/ever again. 

I will be continuing to do my own maintenance and repairs until I'm too old to keep doing that (approaching 50 like like a Mustang approaches a crowd at a Cars and Coffee).  

The air compressor isn't some sub-par junk you get at Lowes (no offense to anyone that has one), it's an Ingersoll Rand 60-gallon vertical. It was the one of the lower models in their Industrial range 20 years ago. It wasn't cheap. It should last a long time.

The air tools I have are also good quality (IR 2131 impact, Snap-On air ratchet, die grinder, etc.). They should last a long time.

I no longer have a sand blaster and don't expect I'll get another.

Not sure how batteries will hold up being stored and possibly not used for a few months.

With tech changing, will the batteries even be available when I need to replace them?

I expect the new house won't have 220V in the garage. So it'll take $hundreds to get the compressor operational.

I expect my new garage won't be as large as the current one. space will be at a premium. The compressor could go outside, even build an enclosure.

So, would you drag the air compressor over a thousand miles and put in in the new place, or get some new electric tools?
If you use(d) electric tools, what brand did/do you have, and what are your impressions?
I'd want a 1/2" drive impact, 3/8 and 1/4 ratchet and a small angle/die grinder.

Teh E36 M3
Teh E36 M3 SuperDork
6/8/21 8:42 p.m.