HappyAndy
HappyAndy HalfDork
1/4/12 10:40 a.m.

What is the preferred online parts source for Subarus?

My wifes trusty old SAAB 9000 is just about done, and SWMBO has declared that she wants a Subaru for her next car.

I know nothing about them, but there are plenty of them for sale on CL. I turn wrenches for a living, and I've had no trouble keeping lots of old SAABs running, not to mention all the odd industrial vehicles that I handle professionally, so I'm not too worried about getting one that needs some work, but I need to know where to find parts with getting robbed by the stealership.

Is there a Subie parts equivalent of eEuroparts?

As this project progresses I'm sure I'll be back with more questions.

SlickDizzy
SlickDizzy GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
1/4/12 11:09 a.m.

Subaru parts are so cheap and plentiful that there doesn't need to be an equivalent of eEuroparts. The only thing I've ever found you can't get from good old Rock Auto (cheapest Subie parts retailer I know of) or your local chain parts store (not a whole lot more expensive) is a hill holder cable, which is $18 at the dealer.

If you've got some experience with a C900 you will warm to working on a Subaru right away. There are a lot of similarities (from a maintenance standpoint) but the Subaru is pretty much easier in every way. I can pull a Subie motor in 45 minutes. Easy peasy.

What year range/model are you looking at? Most Subarus are virtually bulletproof other than a few years of EJ25 models that had piston slap/head gasket issues.

HappyAndy
HappyAndy HalfDork
1/4/12 11:47 a.m.

In reply to SlickDizzy:

I'm looking at foresters and legacy wagons/outbacks. Looking at late nineties to mid two-thousands, must have an automatic trans and NA is preferred but I would consider a turbo. Also must be under 150K miles and clean.

It will be SWMBO's daily driver, and occasionally used for road trips.

Hocrest
Hocrest HalfDork
1/4/12 10:39 p.m.