tblackgt350
tblackgt350
3/30/09 5:29 p.m.

What do you guys think is the stickiest street tire out there; the new Dunlop Direzza, the RE11, What?? I am a humble DE2 driver that had been running Toyo RA1s full skid and loving them, but a couple of driving instructors advised that these tires are so good they might be covering up some of my driving flaws and suggested I try some good high performance street tires to learn more. What would be your choice? Thanks

Josh
Josh Reader
3/30/09 5:41 p.m.

Well, if your objective is to learn, not to cover up flaws in your driving, why do you have to have the stickiest ? Honestly any of the top street tires would be a good idea, the exact choice depends what size you need, what you are driving, whether you are more concerned with track, street, or autocross use, etc. etc. I have been very satisfied with Bridgestone's offerings, I use the RE-01R on both my cars, and I will be using the RE-11 on my Miata in the upcoming season. If you are lucky enough to need a size that is available in the leftover RE-01Rs, that would probably be your best value.

Bobzilla
Bobzilla Reader
3/30/09 5:53 p.m.

Bridgestone Dueller D/T684. Absolutely no-grip and will hide no flaws!

I second the above on the RE-01R's if they're still available in our size.

Salanis
Salanis SuperDork
3/30/09 5:53 p.m.

Yeah, if the objective is to learn, it doesn't matter too much. You'll just want tires that are predictable and don't suck.

Personally, I would just go on Craigslist and find a set of nice used rims with some max-performance summer tires on them (doesn't matter what tire, just something with the speed/heat rating to survive your abuse) and run them until you get tired or use them up.

When you're done, you'll have an extra set of wheels so that you can swap between track and street tires, or you can sell them on CL again, to recoup most of your costs.

motomoron
motomoron New Reader
3/30/09 10:11 p.m.