David S. Wallens
David S. Wallens Editorial Director
5/7/15 3:45 p.m.

As famed Road & Track columnist Peter Egan once joked, sadly there’s no relationship between your driving instructor’s race record and your own competition success. I know that all too well.

When I graduated from college, my parents gave me perhaps the best present ever: a half-day session at the Skip Barber Racing School. I was going to drive a …

Read the rest of the story

trucke
trucke HalfDork
5/7/15 4:07 p.m.

NASCAR Road Racer in 1995? Seems like yesterday I was watching that on TV.

whenry
whenry New Reader
5/7/15 7:30 p.m.

I agree and didnt have a chance after my Skip Barber. Bruce MacInnes, Duck Waddle, Terry Earwood and Jeremy Dale at Sebring in 1988 for a 3 day school. I was in total amazement the whole weekend.

jimbbski
jimbbski Dork
5/7/15 9:40 p.m.

Back in '79 I think it was I did a 3 day Skippy school at Mid Ohio. Bruce MacInnes was my instructor. I caught up with Bruce last year. I called him out of the blue once I found his website. He still does some driver coaching but has other interests other then motorsports.

Will
Will SuperDork
5/7/15 10:24 p.m.

I got to ride shotgun with Boris at Putnam Park Road Course in a supercharged Mustang GT. It was impressive to watch him work.

fasted58
fasted58 UltimaDork
5/8/15 12:51 a.m.

First SCCA driver school in a D/SR at Mid-Ohio in the spring of '89. Driving instructor was Michael Shank, S2 National driver then. He went on to better things and success.

T.J.
T.J. PowerDork
5/8/15 5:50 a.m.

That's what Boris said.

dean1484
dean1484 GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
5/8/15 6:45 a.m.

@ David: I think everyone remembers there first. I have had many instructors over the years. Some have gone on to be famous. I had one by the name of Ed Tinsdale (sp). That I will never forget. Best instructor I ever had. That was almost 30 years ago.

whenry
whenry New Reader
5/8/15 7:11 a.m.