1 2
MrBenjamonkey
MrBenjamonkey New Reader
4/5/10 11:32 p.m.

Hey guys,

I'm an English teacher in Korea (originally from Nevada) and I somehow talked my principal into okaying a racecar building class. I've got 15 kids with absolutely no experience but lots of enthusiasm lined up and a space to make it happen.

We're going to be very grassroots. Budget is about 700 bucks. We'll probably use a Kia Pride (aka Ford Festiva) or a Dawoo Tico (88 Suzuki Alto) or maybe, maybe a 1.3 liter first generation Hyundai Accent.

Let me know if you have any ideas to make my class cooler and I promise I'll post updates as it progresses.

Appleseed
Appleseed SuperDork
4/6/10 12:05 a.m.

I would think more people might have played with Hyundais here, than anything else.

What kind of kids? Real young ones? Or around driving age? (Not sure of Korean driving requirements)

What are your goals? Faster, handle better, drag race, look cool? Little bit of everything, perhaps? Can you fabricate things, or are you looking for kits and bolt ons?

Stuc
Stuc HalfDork
4/6/10 12:46 a.m.

Sounds cool! I know a lot of guys on here are about Festivas so you should be able to get good advice. Accents are also cool, not too sure on the Tico/Alto.

Anyway, I look forward to seeing what you come up with and good luck

Nashco
Nashco SuperDork
4/6/10 2:19 a.m.

A few sets of basic hand tools can be used to strip off all the "extra" parts, kids are best at taking things apart. Leave two front seats in, it's way more fun to beat on a POS with a passenger. Add some camber up front (slots are free, camber bolts are close to it) and a rear sway bar if you're feeling ambitious. Spend the remaining budget on two good helmets and the stickiest tires you can get. Let the giggling begin.

Bryce

MrBenjamonkey
MrBenjamonkey New Reader
4/6/10 2:55 a.m.