EvanR
EvanR Dork
1/28/16 1:48 p.m.

Well, I'm new to the GM world. My "new" Sonic has some (I imagine) emissions-friendly coding that makes the car do odd things, such as falling flat on its face upon letting out the clutch in 2nd gear.

So there exists something called "Trifecta Tune" that appears to be not so much a brand name as a methodology for introducing new coding in to the ECU via the OBDII port.

So, if I understand correctly, it is up to individual tuners to actually write specific data maps for any given chassis/engine/trans combination.

But that's all (I think) I've figured out thus far. Can any of you fine folks fill me in on the knowledge I'm lacking?

Thanks.

alfadriver
alfadriver MegaDork
1/28/16 1:55 p.m.

Please don't blame that on emissions code. It's not that. If it is, the the calibration team needs to do a better job...

Just wanted to say that.

I hate getting blamed for things that are not my fault, and expect the emissions calibrator for this car would, too.

RossD
RossD UltimaDork
1/28/16 1:58 p.m.

Trifecta Tune sounds like you're tuning for three things. Probably Power, Economy, and Emissions. Notice drivability wasn't in that list.

Klayfish
Klayfish UltraDork
1/28/16 3:06 p.m.

http://www.wot-tuning.com/forums/page/index.html

4cylndrfury
4cylndrfury MegaDork
1/28/16 3:30 p.m.

Trifecta has done wonderful things for Cruze owners: +44 WHP and +51 ft-lbs on Chevrolet Cruze 1.4T MY2011-2015,stock vehicle running 91 octane.

Check out THESE LINKS OVER ON CRUZE TALK FORUMS..

THIS ONE IS ESPECIALLY ENLIGHTENING, ITS FROM TRIFECTA, THEMSELVES

MORE ABOUT TRIFECTA, AND THEIR TUNING ARM WOT TUNING

From what I have seen, they develop different tunes to achieve a specific goal. Cruze owners seem to be getting some pretty serious gains on stock internals, and it appears they can apply their engineering craft to most GM brands.