SyntheticBlinkerFluid
SyntheticBlinkerFluid PowerDork
1/13/14 12:29 p.m.

I ran out of heavy duty shop bulbs, so I grabbed a CFL off the shelf. It works rather descent.

I know this isn't anything new, but it's my first time using one.

I know there are florescent and LED drop lamps out there now, but my old school incandescent bulb style is in good shape, so why not use it?

GameboyRMH
GameboyRMH GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
1/13/14 12:31 p.m.

I assume you mean a regular light hanging from the ceiling? No reason not to use it for that.

For a mobile light though, it's hard to recommend anything but an LED bar light nowadays. Super-low-power, no glass to break, no heat, fits into tight spaces.

SyntheticBlinkerFluid
SyntheticBlinkerFluid PowerDork
1/13/14 12:36 p.m.

I mean a light on the end of a cord.

NGTD
NGTD Dork
1/13/14 12:45 p.m.

CFL's don't like the cold.

bigdaddylee82
bigdaddylee82 HalfDork
1/13/14 12:52 p.m.

After cooking the underside of my forearm with a ~75w incandescent bulb in my drop light 10+ years ago (had a scar in shape of the drop light's metal shield's ribs for about 3 years) I quit using incandescent bulbs in drop lights.

I use 100W equivalent CFLs, however I have been known to bust a bulb a time or two when accidentally dropping the drop light. That has it's own issues, tiny glass shards, Mercury vapor, etc. but I haven't burned myself with a drop light since.

I recently put 60W & 40W equivalent LED bulbs in the sconces either side of the garage, and over the front threshold/entry. I may go that route next time I break another CFL in my drop light.

• Lee
GameboyRMH
1/13/14 12:57 p.m.
SyntheticBlinkerFluid wrote: I mean a light on the end of a cord.

Replace that with a battery-powered LED bar for the reasons I mentioned...worth it for safety alone IMO.

bgkast
bgkast GRM+ Memberand Dork
1/13/14 1:28 p.m.