1 2
dean1484
dean1484 GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
2/28/18 5:21 p.m.

I think I posted here a while back that Clark Fletcher, the owner and site master, at Clarks Garage passed away.  I have been an admin for the web forum for more than a decade (not sure how many people knew that) Clark had to step away from Porsche things due to other things going on in his life quite some years ago.  I along with another board member continued to admin the forum. However we did not have admin privileges to the actual site/domain so what we could do was limited.  

I know his site had become "the answer" when it comes to 944 problems. It has been a huge resource to me personally.  I even collaborated with Clark on some of the "shop manual" pages back in the mid 2000's.  I have sent people there thousands of times when they have questions or problems with the 944. His website has become a mainstay in all things 944. 

After letting things settle with the family I approached them about the possibility of me taking over the site and keeping it alive for the future as a sort of memorial to Clark.  This is when I found out that his family really had no clue about the site and its impact on the 944 community.  After I explained things and giving them my background with the site and my internet friendship with Clark and the history I knew about the site and how well known it was in the Porsche community they were thrilled with my idea of keeping it up and running as a memorial to Clark.  So after some sorting out of some things I am now the owner of the clarks-garage domain and have full and unrestricted access to the site. 

My intent is two fold.  First is to go through it and update or delete many of the links that are dead or out dated. Clark had not been keeping the site up to date for at least the last 5 years due to him stepping away from the 944 world.