1 2
69beeguy
69beeguy
6/14/10 3:00 p.m.

hello, i am new to this whole forum thingy so i hope i am not overstepping anything. as of late, i have become very interested in the chumpcar series. the rules are fairly simple. you arent supposed to spend over $500 on the entire vehicle (minus brakes, safety equipment, DOT wheels and tires, drivers luxuries like guages and steering wheel, paint and "engineering"). so basically all engine performance, suspension and drivetrain maintenance and upgrades must not exceed $500. the races are either 2x 7 hour enduros or a 24 hour endurance race. i went to the latest race here in minnesota (brainerd intl raceway). the top 3 finishers were all BMW's. when i did my research on them i found that they basically had a 10:1 weight to hp ratio. i am a mopar man and have been so for a long time. my first thought was an early 70's valiant with a 318. it would have been very easy to break 300hp with the 318 and i knew all about V8's and the dart/valiants. i have changed my mind lately. i am looking into the eagle talons. they are a 2700 lb car and the AWD would help immensely in and out of the corners. they come with 210hp. so here comes my question. for under $500, is it possible to get a 2.0 turbo to 270hp or greater? if so, what are the mods necessary? thanks in advance for any help on this.

4g63t
4g63t Reader
6/14/10 7:16 p.m.

I think 270 RELIABLE HP with a 2G for $500 is a bit optimistic.

69beeguy
69beeguy New Reader
6/14/10 7:29 p.m.

that is why i am here asking you guys. i am an old school V8 guy. this is a road race and the parts can be bought used or on e-bay. it doesnt matter. i am just wondering if we can be competitive with an eagle talon 2.0t.

NYG95GA
NYG95GA SuperDork
6/14/10 7:34 p.m.

I'm not that familiar with the Chumpcar series, but as far as the cars go, another $500 series (LeMons) is likely much the same.