katch22
katch22 GRM+ Memberand None
11/26/08 12:23 p.m.

Hi there everyone. This is an introductory post, and it is motorsports/car-related in a way, so I'm pretty sure this should go here. I've been getting GRM for a while after I signed up with NASA to do their HPDE course two years ago, and I've loved every issue I've received. I also have been noticing how involved the online community is, as well as how tied it is to the magazine, and so I figured I'd test the waters here. I like what I see thus far.

In any case, to the point of the topic: I'm a 20-year-old, utter computer geek who loves, absolutely LOVES driving and racing, but I am sadly without a car. I have some practical experience with cars, but due to (more or less) how I was raised, I've never really had the opportunity to truely work on one (though I imagine I could pick it up quickly if given the chance). The greatest practical experience I have with working with vehicles (especially race cars) comes from a friend's father who 4 or 5 times a year (probably for the last decade, since I was 10) would race his 81' (more or less) RX-7 in the old P7 class that NASA had up at Thunderhill and Infineon in NorCal. My knowledge and experience is strange: all I can really tell you is -what- to adjust on the suspension and tires of a given car given tire temperatures and handling characteristics, but I can't tell you -how- to adjust those settings. Actual mechanical work I've never done.