1 2
Woody
Woody GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
2/15/10 1:17 p.m.

I'm getting ready to do a seat base foamectomy on a Miata seat. I'd done the seat back pad removal before, but this is my first attempt at lowering the base. I've found a bunch of threads, but no decent photos.

Is the plan basically to just cut off the bump that sits down into the indentation of the pan?

I've also heard that there is metal reinforcement in some areas of the foam. Is that accurate?

These are 95M seats, so I want to get it right.

MrJoshua
MrJoshua SuperDork
2/15/10 1:22 p.m.

I found that if I just cut off the bump my butt sat in the hole and made my knees stick up. It also caused my wife's lower back to contact the metal bar at the base of the seat back. I put the bump back and haven't messed with it since. If I did it again I would just cut an inch or so off of the entire seat bottom center. The only metal I remember in the foam was a rod on each side aiming front to back in the grooves to give the fabric something to clamp down to. The low back hitting the bar could probably be remedied by the lumbar lump some people make out of a towel or some other item after removing the back pad.

Woody
2/15/10 1:29 p.m.
MrJoshua wrote: If I did it again I would just cut an inch or so off of the entire seat bottom center.

Do you mean that you would make two cuts, taking an inch out of the middle and leaving the original top and bottom sections in place?

willy19592
willy19592 Reader
2/15/10 1:38 p.m.