Donebrokeit
Donebrokeit Dork
6/24/17 11:25 a.m.

I came across a 1982 Ford Fairmont wagon with a 5.0 fuel injected engine and five speed trans. I spoke with the seller and he informed me that the car "runs" and will drive but the last owner put the wrong cam (two different firing orders?) in the engine and two of the fuel injectors are firing at the wrong time. The sell say's this can be fixed by rewiring the two injectors or by updating the Quarter horse chip? I have very little experience with these engine or aftermarket support controllers.

Could it be just that easy or am I looking at a rabbit hole?

Kind of a long roof

Thanks, Paul B

WildScotsRacing
WildScotsRacing Dork
6/24/17 11:34 a.m.

Put a Ford Motorsports B302 cam in it and have fun. That cam was developed by Ford SVT specifically for that engine.

mblommel
mblommel GRM+ Memberand HalfDork
6/24/17 12:55 p.m.

If it's an older 302 cam be careful with the distributor drive gear. Newer cams are not compatible with older distributor drive gears. IIRC 5.0 cams are steel and require a bronze cam drive gear.

stanger_missle
stanger_missle GRM+ Memberand Dork
6/24/17 1:58 p.m.

IIRC, the non-H.O. 5.0 and H.O. 5.0 has different firing orders. The H.O. has the same firing order as the 351W. If the car was a V8 car originally, I'm pretty sure it came stock with a non-H.O. 5.0. The engine in the pics looks to be the later H.O. variant. I believe the cutoff year was 1986.

I'll also echo what mblommel said. Flat tappet vs roller cam needs different distributor gears.

There is a ton of info on the 'net about these engines.

Sweet wagon BTW

irish44j
irish44j UltimaDork
6/24/17 3:22 p.m.

Bump for Vanilla Ice

jimbbski
jimbbski Dork
6/24/17 4:35 p.m.