Xceler8x
Xceler8x GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
5/22/11 6:27 p.m.

My garage was a mess. Tools everywhere. The wife suggested I get a tool chest. I agreed and started checking prices.

Expensive. I then surfed over to Harbor Freight and noticed they were a lot cheaper. I also surfed to Lowes and saw some that looked like they were comparable in pricing as well as build quality.

They were not.

The low priced Lowes option didn't have ball bearing drawers. The fit wasn't good. It was priced cheaply and built appropriately so.

So I drove to HF and put my hands on the tool chests. Good stuff. They felt like they were built better and had options like ball bearing drawers, ball bearing casters, solid metal construction.

I bought this one.

..but in black and with a slightly different drawer config for $150.

I'll report back as to my experience with the product. I'm a light weight hobbyist when it comes to working on cars. I work in the garage about every other weekend.

Anyone else care to relate their experience with these tool cabinets or chests? I searched online before buying and there was a lot of "HF sells cheap crap!" posts. We know this. But I'm willing to bet with my wallet that this cabinet will work just fine and is built well enough for at least the hobbyist mechanic. The price point can't be beat.

Josh
Josh Dork
5/22/11 6:44 p.m.
Xceler8x wrote: I bought this one. ..but in black and with a slightly different drawer config for $150.

I do wish I had a HF outlet nearby, but I did pretty well trolling craigslist. Here's what I picked up for my $150 at an estate sale this weekend: