1 2 3 4
SVreX
SVreX MegaDork
12/11/17 7:31 p.m.

I want a V8 Miata.  I can't afford to buy one already built.  I'm only a mediocre builder.  I've never built an engine, am pretty good with suspension, body, detailing and finishing, and minor fab work.

I seem especially good at collecting unfinished projects.  I don't want that to be the legacy for this car.

If I had my choice, I'd have an NB or NC with an LS and a T56.  My max budget is about $5K (and I'd rather do it for Challenge money), so there are gonna be some compromises.  I want to build a GREAT clean street driver- 300hp or so.  Manual trans is a requirement.

I already have the makings for a pretty good start:

-94 NA in good condition.  Rust free, dent free.  Leather interior, new soft top, 1.8L (apparently with a 6 spd).  Torsen, mildly upgraded suspension.  Only thing wrong with the car is sticky lifters and cosmetic.  Oh... and its an NA!

- 4.8L LS with 243 heads, a GM hot cam, car oil pan, car intake, GM computer, auto trans.  Also have nitrous setup, and a few other goodies.  Some assembly required.

Total invested in Challenge dollars for the car AND the engine together is about $200 (after recoup).

But I am missing that elusive budget-friendly T56 that we are all looking for, and the rear diff swap is sounding a little daunting...

I had an opportunity to buy a complete running Mustang recently with a great engine, and some good parts.  Deal fell through, but it got me thinking...  My 300 hp target is well within the reach of a 5.0, the 5.0 swap is really well documented, a T5 will bolt up,  and starting with a complete running donor car would give me most of the parts I need.  The documentation and the complete running donor seem to be an easier path for someone like me with limited skills.  Besides...5.0's really do sound great with a nice set of Flowmasters!

So, I've been looking for Mustangs...