1 2 3
TXratti
TXratti Reader
11/12/19 2:17 p.m.

I have a couple build threads on the Builds and Project Cars section and found myself talking about how things were progressing as a driver in different places and writing novels in-between the build portions.

Rather than clog up the build threads talking about driving and what I'm working on, I figured I'd split it off and have one thread over here to really dig into where I am as a driver and (hopefully!) ask for critiques and advice from the GRM community.

A bit of background on myself:

I am an Engineer by trade, professional stage Rally co-driver (@RallySideways, let me know if you ever need a navi!), have done a couple rallycrosses, work intermittently as a driving instructor at Rally Ready (rallyready.com), and prior to this year only a couple of autocross events as a driver. This year I did 6 or 7 autocrosses in various cars of my own or codriving other folk's cars and a couple of HPDE events.

I've seen a good progression during autocrosses this year, and was happy during my first instructed DE to be moved from Novice to Intermediate halfway through the day by my instructor. I do try to pay attention and listen though, and that seems to be the bar by which they promote from one group to the next.

TXratti
TXratti Reader
11/12/19 2:50 p.m.

Here's a video from late 2016, my first time on track: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Xlf-gOchlc&t

My XR had stock brakes and stock suspension at the time, which was... not confidence inspiring but was fun nonetheless. Some of the comments below the video were helpful as well as others who reached out to me independently. I post this with the intent to be a "this is where we started" reference. 

Feedback tended to be, decent lines, vision, but needed to keep hands in one place on the wheel instead of shuffle-steering so much. Brake later and not as much, carry more speed.

_
_ Dork
11/12/19 3:03 p.m.