zoomx2
zoomx2 Reader
11/6/09 1:53 p.m.

Okay, first off sorry for the length of this:

I am 99% sure I am going to sacrifice my Miata for a Locost. reason being is that I posted it on CL and didn't get close to what I was asking for it. Wifey said I might as well keep it and finish the way I has talked about for the past 6 months but my plan for that included a re-body (more on that in a second). I figure that if I'm going to tear it down I might as well build a Locost since 1) their cool as hell 2) it can be cheaper (more on that in a second also) 3) Keith's book keeps saying I should. I still wouldn't mind doing a re-body but that still won't satisfy my craving of saying "I did that myself". Plus I'm a pretty competent welder and can usually figure mechanics put pretty well.

Now if I went the Locost route I figured that I might as well shoot for the moon and build according to Challenge rules, which could potentially make a Locost cheaper than a re-body (by selling off non-used parts). Hence the reason I need the vast GRM community to decide how much the car I already own is worth per rule 7 of the Challenge bible:

7) If parts or vehicles are already owned by the competitor, they must be figured into the budget at fair market value at todays prices.

Now about the car:

The good: 1991 Mazda Miata, 1.6 longnose, 5 speed, open diff. Has Koni STR-T shocks, Flyin' Miata sway bars, Racing Beat springs, 949racing 6UL wheels w/ Hankook RS-2's, Harddog Hardsport roll bar, new rotors and Hawk pads. 142XXX miles. Manual rack, A/C removed. Grant steering wheel.