sevenracer
sevenracer Reader
7/9/17 2:09 p.m.

Now granted I am a noob/hack welder, but have always managed to weld functional (if not pretty) parts when needed. My latest challenge is trying to weld up a mild steel coolant pipe for the race car, needed to cut and reweld 180 degree bend to open it up to a roughly 150 degree angle. Things were looking pretty good until I put water in it.

I have 3 places where water seeps through. I have ground down the welds and tried to locate the leaks, welded over those spots and re-check - still leaks. I have repeated this 3-4 times on each leak with no success. As far as I can tell, it looks like it's seeping at the interface of the weld and the base metal, but to me the welds look pretty good - they don't look "cold" to me.

So looking for advice on how to solve this. I'd hate to admit defeat and slather it with JB weld!

Thanks

http://i.imgur.com/JybinBY.jpg http://i.imgur.com/mNltAs4.jpg http://i.imgur.com/qf1qXP1.jpg http://i.imgur.com/jcFYEJ4.jpg

Knurled
Knurled GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
7/9/17 2:12 p.m.

Grind down where it's leaking, and lay it in a bit hotter. If looks are not as important as workin' good, stitch across the joint instead of along it. You end up with an ugly pad of weld but sometimes you have to nuke the entire site from orbit.

sevenracer
sevenracer Reader
7/9/17 2:31 p.m.

Thanks Knurled. Not 100% sure what you mean about stitching the joint. The leaks seem to be from more or less a single point. Smaller than a tack weld. I guess I'll try going hotter, but worries me a bit since I had blow through in a couple of spots when I first welded in the patch piece.

Fixed the picture links. Last pic isn't the greatest, but I would typically see a little water at one spot somewhere on the perimeter of the weld area that is ground down - not from the void in the center.

Knurled
7/9/17 2:43 p.m.