1 2 3
Brotus7
Brotus7 HalfDork
8/15/14 7:07 p.m.

I've driven a couple and the giggling just doesn't stop. I'm looking to combine my B5 A4 and AW11 MR2 into a single car, and I have a Dakota for when I can't fit something in a car.

So, what does the braintrust think of the Fiat reliability and longevity? I know a few people here own them. How long do you plan on keeping yours, and how has the customer experience been so far? I've never had a new car, and I'm getting tired of fixing the old fleet. I would expect to put 10-15k on it per year.

I've driven the Fiesta ST and it's fun, but doesn't put the same absurd smile on my face.

nicksta43
nicksta43 UberDork
8/15/14 7:51 p.m.

I have no first hand experience but I have lusted after one ever since Jeremy Clarkson tested it on Top Gear. If I were in a position to have one I would in a heartbeat.

spitfirebill
spitfirebill PowerDork
8/15/14 8:13 p.m.

No personal experience, but I see a lot of used ones (not necessarily Abarths), which makes me think there are a lot of dissatisfied purchasers.

calteg
calteg HalfDork
8/15/14 8:14 p.m.

I really really really wanted one.

Until I drove one. The shifter is horrid. As in, inexcusably bad.

The ST is faster, more practical, and likely not too much more expensive. But if an Abarth is what you want, don't let things like logic or reason dissuade you.

Woody
Woody GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
8/15/14 8:24 p.m.

I love the way they look and sound, but think I would get tired of the short wheelbase if I was on anything other than a winding back road. And an '89 Civic Si was my daily driver for 12 years.

Brotus7
Brotus7 HalfDork
8/15/14 8:27 p.m.
calteg wrote: Until I drove one. The shifter is horrid. As in, inexcusably bad. The ST is faster, more practical, and likely not too much more expensive. But if an Abarth is what you want, don't let things like logic or reason dissuade you.