psychic_mechanic
psychic_mechanic Dork
2/13/23 8:29 a.m.

The vehicle is a 2006 XC90 with 158k on it and there are no keys. I am a tech for America's #1 motor vehicle company (as long as you are grading by number of recalls per vehicle) so I am familiar with security keys and systems in newer cars. I'm going to call a locksmith later this week but was just wondering if anyone here knows any shortcuts or can show me where to get a key profile by VIN.

The few youtube videos I looked up showed removing a security module and soldering jumper wires to it to program keys so I'm a bit worried. I do have a CK-100 programmer I've used for dodge keys before and some kind of autel scanner with some key programming functions.

02Pilot
02Pilot PowerDork
2/13/23 8:44 a.m.

My V50 only came with one key, so I did a little digging when I bought it. I am not willing to go the soldering route, which means paying. Even an additional key seems to be ~$400 by the time all is said and done; in your situation I expect probably a few hundred more. Sadly, I didn't find anything suggesting an alternate procedure, either using VIDA or a higher-end generic scan tool. It's apparently quite a secure anti-theft arrangement, which is great except when you need a key.

93gsxturbo
93gsxturbo UltraDork
2/13/23 4:40 p.m.

Its worth some searching on MHH Auto or talking to a local locksmith.  Because you need both the key and the coding it may be worth it to just pay the man.  If you had a physical key to copy then its fun to fiddle with the programming.  

Pete. (l33t FS)
Pete. (l33t FS) GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
2/13/23 5:41 p.m.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/265781451204

Kill two birds with one stone: You get matched key/cylinders/immobilizer, and there is no chance that someone else has the missing key and can just take off with the vehicle.

Streetwiseguy
Streetwiseguy MegaDork
2/13/23 6:01 p.m.