jmk015
jmk015 New Reader
2/6/17 2:10 p.m.

Like the title says, I'm thinking about picking up a used 2010-2014 Cadillac CTS Sport Wagon with the 3.0 v6 for my new daily driver. While I want the CTS-V, its not in the budget. The 3.6 v6 has a lot of reports of failing timing chains and burning too much oil, so I'm going to go with the 3.0.

It will be an automatic and have ~50,000 miles on it.

I currently daily drive a 2009 Mini Cooper and am tired on its electrical gremlins. It seems like another $300 part breaks every other week.

I'm an above average mechanic and have ample garage space and tools. I DIY all of my car repairs. I'm quite familiar with GM products, as I also have a 1994 z28 Camaro and a 1987 El Camino.

Gas mileage is not a concern. My commute is 18 miles round trip.

I'm hoping for a reliable car with relatively affordable and available parts. I hate working in tiny cramped engine bays. What would I be getting into with a CTS Sport Wagon. Good or bad daily driver? Thanks!!

mazdeuce
mazdeuce UltimaDork
2/6/17 4:42 p.m.

I will admit that I know nothing about the V6's in these cars other than the 3.6 is fairly universally hated. There are at least two non-V wagons driving around by me so I'm interested to hear what people say about them. The combination of the wagon back and the smooth V6 hood is attractive.

hhaase
hhaase Reader
2/6/17 6:08 p.m.

Huh, never had a peep of trouble from our 3.6, and put almost 100,000 on it. Can't say the same about the Chrysler 3.6 I had in my jeep.... that one needed a head at around 15,000.

Only actual problem we ever had with our CTS wagon was a couple failed relays for the cooling fans. Other than that it was a solid and comfortable car that drove great. My main complain was the mileage was only in the high teens to around 20.

-Hans

Raze
Raze UltraDork
2/6/17 6:19 p.m.

Have a 3.6 in my wife's Crammit and my Impalalalala, no problems

Gearheadotaku
Gearheadotaku GRM+ Memberand PowerDork
2/6/17 7:37 p.m.