SlickDizzy
SlickDizzy GRM+ Memberand UberDork
6/13/13 8:48 p.m.

Subaru XT EA82 turbo, ancient platform with little potential, yadda yadda yadda.

I am lucky enough to have an XT6 transmission with the car that will support 400HP+. I could really easily sell some of the rare bits off the car, drop in an EJ, and make a decent showing in the sub-$1000 class at the Challenge. Naturally aspirated EJ22s make as much power as the heavily modified EA82 turbo I already have, but are much less finicky and have a much broader torque curve. Not a bad option.

...or I could go all out and run an "NA-T" EJ and have something really, really, quick. I have a lot of experience with EA82 turbos and naturally aspirated EJ-series engines, but the prospect of an NA-T build is somewhat intimidating.

Early EJ-series motors will drop right in with an adapter plate and I am still familiar with the wiring after my old EJ22 Brat project from a few years back. In a few ways, it would make a lot more sense than fighting the fragile and incredibly complicated EA82 turbo setup currently in the car.

Has anyone here ever attempted this, or at least have any insight?

Ojala
Ojala GRM+ Memberand HalfDork
6/13/13 10:18 p.m.

The main limiters are the heads, pistons, and fuel. 10:1 compression ratio and boost over 8lb dont live together for very long in a Subaru motor. But thats fine because the heads will only support enough airflow and the injectors only flow to support that boost level. What I have done in the hazy past was use a stock Subaru turbo along with a manual boost controller and a rising rate fuel pressure regulator and bigger fuel pump. The older JEC and Denso ECUs will work fine with a rising rate fuel pressure regulator at the boost and flow levels this engine will support.

Many people have also used M45 and M60 superchargers, but I cant comment on that because I have never done it myself. Also there are many documented build threads on RS25 about adding boost to older Subarus.