1 2
John Welsh
John Welsh Mod Squad
1/23/21 6:17 p.m.

A friend of the family is into horses.  I know nothing of horses.  She is shopping horse trailers and reached out to me.  

2012 Ford Explorer V6 with factory tow package.  The Ford Towing Guide then says a max towing capacity of 5,000lbs WITH WEIGHT DISTRIBUTING HITCH.  

This is the horse trailer the friend is considering. 

I have done trailers but I have little experience with weight dist hitch.  When I research them I see images like this:

Will the trailer listed above work easily with a weight dist hitch?  How would you clamp on?  

The claims are that the trailer listed above weights 2,300#.  The horses are about 1,100# each
2,300# trailer + 2,200# in horses = 4,500#   That leaves just 500# of room for crap like sadles and feed.  Works?  

Vigo (Forum Supporter)
Vigo (Forum Supporter) MegaDork
1/23/21 8:09 p.m.

I mean, works but barely. I don't think horses are the easiest type of weight to tow, lb for lb. As far as the weight distributing hitch, what it does is try to rotate the drawbar  (the square tube with the ball on it that slides into the receiver)  downward, which basically tries to pitch the whole tow vehicle forward as well. This basically compresses the front suspension of the tow vehicle and reduces the weight on the rear suspension, which is what they mean by 'distributing weight'. It also shifts some weight rearward on the trailer as well. There are hardware limitations to this so it doesn't really give you the ability to run like double the tongue weight just because you're sending some to the front end, but it does allow you to run more tongue weight safely because you're not affecting the weight distribution of the tow vehicle as drastically, so you won't bottom out or 'porpoise' as much and your limit braking traction will be improved. 

karplus2
karplus2 GRM+ Memberand Reader
1/23/21 8:16 p.m.