1 2 3
Japanspec
Japanspec Reader
11/17/21 10:17 p.m.

Hey everyone. I’m looking to self teach myself MIG welding. A few years ago I bought a cheap harbor freight flux core welder to repair rocker rust on my Miata (talk about diving in head first). Over the years, I’ve used it for some projects here and there, and have gotten pretty decent with it. However, I’m finding myself start to get into some more bigger projects when it comes to cars (mainly more body work, some exhaust stuff), which is making me look into investing in a good MIG welder and some self taught practice.

Is this doable from a hobbyist standpoint, or am I just looking at a complete disaster if I try this? It seems like many here have welding experience, I'm just not sure if its professional or self taught, so want to get some insight.

codrus (Forum Supporter)
codrus (Forum Supporter) GRM+ Memberand PowerDork
11/17/21 10:19 p.m.

IMHO for mild steel it's totally doable.  Get a decent machine, watch some videos and/or talk to friends, and lots and lots of practice.

That's what I did, and while I still suck at welding, it's mainly because I haven't spent enough time on practice.

AnthonyGS (Forum Supporter)
AnthonyGS (Forum Supporter) GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
11/17/21 10:22 p.m.

Totally in for the discussion.  I'd also like opinions on affordable MIG welders, but I keep thinking I should just save for a Miller 211.  I took a one on one training session and used it and it was great.  I can take more lessons as desired too. 

SkinnyG (Forum Supporter)
SkinnyG (Forum Supporter) UberDork
11/17/21 10:22 p.m.

Flux core tends to look ugly, but it's still better than no welder at all.

CLEAN the metal.

Get close.

Slow down.

Slow down more, you're not going slow enough.

Watch lots of youtube.  weldingtripsandtricks is my favourite.

Japanspec
Japanspec Reader
11/17/21 10:23 p.m.
codrus (Forum Supporter) said: