1 2 3
Trackmouse
Trackmouse Reader
4/2/15 12:23 p.m.

Corded and battery op. I'm Eyeing the makita btw450. Due to this article: http://m.caranddriver.com/features/impact-wrench-comparison-seven-electric-models-tested-gearbox

I would LIKE the cordless because I "believe" it would be useful for changing tires at an event. I have zero experience with these. I did however once buy an air impact from China freight. Immediately returned. What do the geniuses here know?

Cone_Junkie
Cone_Junkie SuperDork
4/2/15 12:32 p.m.

For an pneumatic (air) impact I prefer IR or one of the tool truck brands (Matco, Mac, Snap-On).

I've had a few cordless over the years. I liked the size/weight of my DeWalt 14V cordless impact for track use. Unfortunately the batteries only last 1, maybe 2 seasons. Big money to replace them.

I now use the Harbor Freight cordless. For $30-$40, you can throw it away when the battery dies. Or buy the extended warranty and replace it for free.

rcutclif
rcutclif GRM+ Memberand HalfDork
4/2/15 12:37 p.m.

I use the HF corded one. While not as powerful as an air gun it gets the job done almost always. And it is much easier and quicker for me to get it out and pick it up later (vs. air hose and getting the compressor kicking).

Well worth the 30-40 bucks.

06HHR
06HHR HalfDork
4/2/15 1:04 p.m.

I was just thinking about getting the HF cordless instead of spending big $$ on a Milwaukee. The cordless is on sale for $119, what's the battery life like? Is it better than their $19 cordless drill (lasts about 20 minutes on a full charge if that)

Trackmouse
Trackmouse Reader
4/2/15 1:14 p.m.
06HHR wrote: I was just thinking about getting the HF cordless instead of spending big $$ on a Milwaukee. The cordless is on sale for $119, what's the battery life like? Is it better than their $19 cordless drill (lasts about 20 minutes on a full charge if that)