1 2
Giant Purple Snorklewacker
Giant Purple Snorklewacker SuperDork
4/30/10 10:11 a.m.

I am in the process of spec'ing out a Megasquirt setup to replace my dead ECU on the E30 of doom... seems I can do a whole MS-II kit for what a junkyard unit + custom burn would cost for the S52. I do love a cost effective opportunity to frustrate myself for weeks!

Its looking to be kindof a PIA to get sequential firing to work as the factory cam angle sensor is not supported. I can't really think of a downside to running wasted spark except that there is just more wear on the plugs and it will burn any unburned fuel before it goes back to mother nature. This is a race-only application - is there any high RPM consequence I'm not aware of or am I over-thinking it and should just roll with the easy answer?

Also, any noob advice is welcome. I'm pretty electronics saavy and can see clear to the end of the installation quite easily but I'm new to tuning vtables - so if you have the "idiots guide to foolproof setup" I'd be much obliged so as not to hole a piston the first time I hit the track.

Keith
Keith GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
4/30/10 10:14 a.m.

Almost every Miata runs wasted spark. Maybe your plug wires will wear out earlier, but I don't see a big downside myself.

4/30/10 10:21 a.m.

@Keith - its a COP setup so no wires... coils might heat up more though. I'm honestly not sure if BMW doesn't use wasted spark by default for emissions.

Anyone know?

Dr. Hess
Dr. Hess SuperDork
4/30/10 10:24 a.m.

Harley's have run Wasted Spark since before time began. SBC's do it. Esprits, Camrys, Corollas and Tacomas too. It's actually easier and better because you have fewer moving parts. Never replace a rotor and cap again and get full voltage through from the coil to the plug instead of losing a bunch at the gap between the cap and the rotor.

4/30/10 10:28 a.m.