f_
f_
3/10/20 8:36 p.m.

Hello, I'm new to the world of motorsports and I had a couple of questions. Forgive me if these are stupid questions, but I couldn't really find answers for them online.

1. Do people generally compete in different types of motorsports (such as Autocross, Road Racing, &, Rallycross) or do they stick to one?

2. I've read on these forums that generally it would be best to have different cars for Autocross and Rallycross. But in the case of Autocross and Road Racing/Time Trials, do people generally use one car for both autocross and road racing/time trials or do they typically have different cars for each? And if they do have different cars, is it because their car might not be competitive when transitioning from Autocross to RR/TT or vice versa?

3. And finally are autocross cars built differently than RR/TT cars similar to how rallycross cars are different than autocross cars?

Patientzero
Patientzero Reader
3/10/20 8:43 p.m.

1.  I drive in both Autocross and Road Racing.  Rallycross sounds fun too but I don't have a car capable of doing it.  I don't think they'd allow my F150.

2. It really depends on what class you're running in and the rules dictating your car setup.  One car can easily be run in both Time Trials and Autocross, my car included.  Sometimes you'll have to make comprimises in order to stay legal for both classes.  Other people don't mine swapping parts between races to stay competitive in both.  I know people locally that run the same car in both Rallycross and Autocross, including a current national champion.

3. Yes.  There are always things you can do to optimize for one over the other but usually there is a middle ground to make it suitable for both depending on your car.

BoxheadTim
BoxheadTim GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
3/10/20 8:44 p.m.

A few people I know run both Autocross and Time Trials, sometimes even with the same car.