SeffyD
SeffyD None
8/23/14 1:45 p.m.

I realize that this debate has been going on for a while but I'm in dire need of helpful input. I've been driving a 2000 Ford Taurus wagon for almost 4 years, and at 21 years old I've been itching to get something a bit more enjoyable as a daily driver. My desire was to purchase a rear-wheel, 2-door sports car, specifically looking at the Toyota MR2. However most of them around where I am seemed awfully sketchy with regards to previous owners. Then I came across THIS little beauty of a Miata and I my desire for an MR2 vanished. However, not long after that, I saw THIS MR2 which sparked my original desire.

I've contacted the owner of the Miata, and other than the passenger window not functioning for unknown reasons the car seems to have been well maintained and in good condition. The low mileage and the additional hard-top also make it sound like a pretty reasonable deal and I'm seriously leaning towards getting it.

I have not contacted the MR2 owner yet so I don't have anything but the CL ad to go off of, but for the argument let's say it has no significantly detrimental issues.

I'm not really looking for a fast car, just something more enjoyable and fun than my Taurus. The MR2 seems like it would be more fun and it is slightly faster than the Miata. However, the Maita seems safer and more mature. Am I being utterly stupid for questioning the Miata, or is the MR2 actually a valid option? Or is either choice bad and I should be looking down a different path?

Here's some more info:

I have never driven either car, and other than a drving a MKI MR2 I have no prior experience with them.

Currently, the $3500 range is about where I'm at regarding budget, but I can wait a while to increase it if the consensus leans that way.

I'm about 6'3" and ~160lbs (a twig).

I'm going to be keeping the Taurus for when I need a car with more storage capacity, the Miata/MR2 is for saving gas and for enjoyment.