1 2
RoughandReady
RoughandReady Reader
2/16/14 3:55 p.m.

This is going to be my continuation of this thread: http://grassrootsmotorsports.com/forum/grm/i-keep-breaking-spot-weld-cutters/78630/page1/

I wanted to start a thread about the joys of cutting up old junk, and well...it turned into something else. i now want to start a thread about the joys of junking and my daily grind. If this is something wholly uninteresting, then I suppose the thread with starve and die and I'm sorry for wasting time! I'm a small time junker by profession, I take pride in what I do and I have a lot of fun.

Took a trip to the pull-a-part this weekend, rounding up parts for the girlfriend's 190e (That's me).

It was a beautiful day to be out, despite the mud and the thieves. I went home with a few less tools than I came with. Wish I could see out of both eyes.

Import block 3 disappeared.

Didn't come home with too much. Got a desperately needed brake booster for the 190e and snagged these OEM Bosch glass euro lights from a really nice Mercedes S class. I'm hoping to fetch $2-250 for them.

Got some more work done on the Flacon.

HF sawzall blades: FAIL. Went through 2 just today. The metal is so soft that it's like lead.

Gearheadotaku
Gearheadotaku GRM+ Memberand UberDork
2/16/14 4:13 p.m.

HF blade suck. I'd be tempted to use a grinder and cutting disc for that job.

RoughandReady
RoughandReady Reader
2/16/14 4:20 p.m.

In reply to Gearheadotaku:

I had some good blades from Lowe's before and they cut through it like butter, even the frame rails. The HF blades have no spring to them, they just bent and break. Also, the coating on them is pure poison.

mad_machine
mad_machine GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
2/16/14 4:25 p.m.

I go to lowes for blades. Worth the extra money

fasted58
fasted58 PowerDork
2/16/14 4:45 p.m.

DeWalt or Milwaukee

Don49
Don49 HalfDork
2/16/14 5:21 p.m.

Buy the demo blades, much stronger and worth the cost.

Wally
Wally GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
2/16/14 7:10 p.m.