EfiniMotorsport
EfiniMotorsport New Reader
10/4/20 9:40 p.m.

Today I started painting my 335xi coupe. I got the interior, engine compartment and underside done so far. The rest of the car is going to need a fair bit of body work as the car was hit and repaired previously, just not well. The car looked ok when assembled but if you look close you can see it ain't pretty. For the hell of it I was looking around at wide body kits and came across a mint M3 shell for stupid cheap. The shell is clean and aside from needed to repaint it doesn't need any work. What I'm trying to figure out is will my 335xi subframes and suspension bolt to the M3 chassis? I know the normal M3 suspension is light/stronger/better/whatever but I want the x drive and n54 I've already prepped. I just don't want to get the m3 shell and find out my parts won't bolt in. If the new shell is $1500 with shipping and both need to be painted anyone wouldn't I be stupid not to do it?

EfiniMotorsport
10/4/20 9:42 p.m.

Also, Anyone got an idea on the cheapest way to get a shell that's on a pallet from AZ to CT?

jfryjfry (Forum Supporter)
jfryjfry (Forum Supporter) Dork
10/5/20 9:09 a.m.

Is there any difference between the m3 shell and yours?  Anything special?

what about title? 

cheapest way to get it would be to go pick it up.  Maybe fly out and drive back.  You might even be able to strap it in the bed of a pickup truck. Or rent a flatbed truck. 

or put it in the back of a uhaul.  Either drive out or fly out and drive it back. 

Wide body kit on yours after you repair it might end up being the simplest and easiest and fastest and cheapest.  

Pete. (l33t FS)
Pete. (l33t FS) GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
10/5/20 9:23 a.m.

Does the stupid cheap shell come with a title?

adam525i (Forum Supporter)
adam525i (Forum Supporter) GRM+ Memberand HalfDork
10/5/20 9:28 a.m.