Nashco
Nashco SuperDork
7/28/10 12:03 p.m.

Hey gang, I'm looking to possibly import a modified car from British Columbia to the US (Oregon, specifically) and I'm new to this game. The car isn't quite 25 years old (unfortunately) and has had an engine swap, therefore technically not to US EPA requirements as the car was originally built. The same car was sold in the US, so it did pass all of the safety/EPA stuff in the US originally, nothing new in that regard. I am doing my own research, but there is a heck of a lot of red tape jargon to sift through.

Does anybody have any practical experience trying to accomplish this? I have found a lot of government documentation about the process, but it all states that the car must comply to US EPA requirements and I have no idea if they will actually inspect or what.

Thanks for any experience you can share, I'm in a little over my head on this one.

Bryce

BoxheadTim
BoxheadTim GRM+ Memberand Dork
7/28/10 12:06 p.m.

I'm just about to start something like that with a bunch of motorcycles that over 25 years old. Out here in Nevada they do need to be inspected even though they're EPA exempt.

TBH I'd give a not-quite-25-yo-car a miss given that you'd normally have to produce paperwork from the manufacturer to confirm that it meets all relevant US requirements.

93gsxturbo
93gsxturbo Reader
7/28/10 12:16 p.m.

Unless its something really awesome or cheap, I would find the same thing in the US and save yourself a metric ass-ton of hassles.

If anything, bring it across in pieces and put said pieces in a clean, US-legal shell. Sell/scrap the old shell in Canada.

stuart in mn
stuart in mn SuperDork
7/28/10 12:31 p.m.

There is a list on a US government website somewhere of specific makes and models of cars newer than 25 years old that are close enough to US spec that they can be imported with minimal changes, but I don't have it bookmarked. Try a google search on 'importing cars to usa' and go from there.