1 2 3
GameboyRMH
GameboyRMH GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
5/22/15 8:36 a.m.

Nissan didn't want to make a unique platform for one car.

http://www.thetruthaboutcars.com/2015/05/nissan-idx-is-super-dead-but-parts-may-live-on-in-fwd-platform/

They wanted to put a CVT into it anyway.

jimbob_racing
jimbob_racing Dork
5/22/15 8:46 a.m.

They say they can't afford to do a stand alone rwd platform and sell it profitably. Right. Mazda sure doesn't seem to have a problem with that.

1988RedT2
1988RedT2 PowerDork
5/22/15 8:47 a.m.

They probably recognized the futility of their pursuit. I had the opportunity to drive the Scion FR-S over the weekend. It's hard to find anything to nit-pick, and it's really an enjoyable car to drive, particularly with the 6-speed manual.

scardeal
scardeal Dork
5/22/15 8:54 a.m.

All they need to do, IMO, is make it share a platform with the next gen Z car. But, then again, I am not an engineer.

GameboyRMH
5/22/15 8:54 a.m.

Yep between the Toyobaru and the ND Miata, and soon Toyota's new I4 RWD car and perhaps the Honda S1k, the competition is getting stiff.

HappyAndy
HappyAndy UberDork
5/22/15 8:55 a.m.

Sad, but not at all surprising.

chiodos
chiodos Reader
5/22/15 8:57 a.m.

Probably cause there was so much enthusiasts hype about the twins yet when it came to sales, they didn't do like anyone hoped so nissan decided to stay with making awd on road only suv convertables and other assorted appliances.

NOHOME
NOHOME UltraDork
5/22/15 9:00 a.m.

Nissan missed the boat when Toyota and Subaru built the 240Z replacement before they did.