1 2
Gear171
Gear171
5/7/13 3:27 p.m.

Hey all,

So I am new to rally. I have been to a couple of events, and I would really like to get into the sport. I'm trying to decide what I should get for a vehicle. I'm from Boston MA. I have a budget of around $6,000. I need the vehicle to serve as my primary driving vehicle as well (I have a motorcycle as back-up for when I inevitably wreck the car). I'm a decent mechanic, and don't mind doing some work. My brother is a professional mechanic and wants to help me out with this project, but doesn't have a ton of time. So, I guess here are my questions

Make and model

Manual of Automatic

Recommended parts to be swapped out, upgraded, etc.

Tips

Anything else I may be overlooking

Sorry for the Noob questions.

Cheers, Gear

mazdeuce
mazdeuce Dork
5/7/13 3:38 p.m.

If you really want to get on stage, then you want to buy a rally car that is built already and has a current valid log book. Before you do that, you should spend a stupid amount of time on specialstage.com and rally anarchy reading. Then you should spend a year at least rally crossing and crewing. Then shop for the built car, then rally it for a year and either wreck it or sell it and build one. Deciding which car to build is a long way down the list of things to do.

icaneat50eggs
icaneat50eggs Reader
5/7/13 3:38 p.m.

Rally cross

Or full blown rally

The first I can see, the second I can't fathom doing in something your going to dd.

But I don't know much about rally.

icaneat50eggs
icaneat50eggs Reader
5/7/13 3:42 p.m.

http://grassrootsmotorsports.com/forum/200x-classifieds/1994-mazda-protege-rally-cross-500/64053/page1/

just saying, for your first one, don't depend on it, don't spend anything on it. If/when you wad it into a ball, you can walk away not caring, and still get to work the next week.

fanfoy
fanfoy Reader
5/7/13 4:22 p.m.