Carl Heideman
Carl Heideman
10/15/19 7:24 a.m.

I just bought a used 24' enclosed trailer with a ramp door to replace the 14' swinging door trailer I've been using for 15 years.  My old trailer had d-rings in the floor and not much room for anything else, so I didn't outfit it with any trailer doo-dads.   I've also got an 18' open trailer I use when I don't need to be enclosed.

For this trailer, I'm thinking about adding:

• E-track on the floor (How far apart to place it? What types of hooks to use?)
  • E-track on the walls so I can roll a tool box or other big things in and secure them
  • 12V LED lights inside (it's currently got 120V florescent)  
  • Folding tire rack
  • Fold-down bench in the front
  • Maybe cabinets above the bench, maybe just fold-down shelves or wire rack with a cargo net to keep things from falling during transport.  I generally keep spare parts, liquids, and other things in plastic tubs for the car being towed.
  • Maybe a winch

My sons and I have several cars for autocross and track use and also tow Hope College's FSAE cars (with this trailer, we can tow 2), so I want high flexibility.  That's why I'm thinking about E-track and fold-down stuff, so it's easy to reconfigure for the car and competition at hand.  

What are your favorite products for these things?  Other tips?

Patrick
Patrick GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
10/15/19 7:42 a.m.

just installed a folding tire rack from amazon in mine and it seems sturdy.  $38ish.  I spent a bunch on e-track and i have no regrets.  I have straps and rollers that allow you to go right over the tires to tie a car down.  Also got some free led strip lights so i stuck a battery in and switched them 

jimbbski
jimbbski SuperDork
10/15/19 9:05 a.m.