saruken
saruken Reader
11/16/20 9:41 a.m.

Like the title says, the previous owner of my '83 Civic hatch cut off the exhaust at the manifold:

It's all one piece up to the header, and the pipe has some complicated bends to it.

I want to do all the work on this car myself, but I don't have a welder. Is this when I need to buy one? Should I try to track down new parts? Is there some kind of magic clamp/joint I could use here?

Thanks all. I've never tried to do any exhaust work myself before.

84FSP
84FSP UltraDork
11/16/20 10:24 a.m.

You might get away with a vband slip joint and extra pipe length to an aftermarket exhaust setup.  They work really well and are cheap if you hunt them on amazon etc.

Streetwiseguy
Streetwiseguy MegaDork
11/16/20 11:34 a.m.

You need to connect to the inside pipe.  The outer is just a heat shield.  You need to add a flex joint of some sort somewhere, solid pipe will break pretty quickly.  

You need a welder.

Dusterbd13-michael (Forum Supporter)
Dusterbd13-michael (Forum Supporter) MegaDork
11/16/20 11:48 a.m.

This is the time for a cheap ebay header and exhaust. Easy button. 

Stefan (Forum Supporter)
Stefan (Forum Supporter) GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
11/16/20 12:01 p.m.

Grab another exhaust manifold and downpipe off car-part.com or eBay.com.

Otherwise, you'll need to cut back that heatshield to get to the inner pipe, then cover it with a new heatshield to avoid heating the oil up too much.

84FSP
84FSP UltraDork
11/16/20 12:49 p.m.

Probably easier to just grab a used / new header and downpipe if you can find one.  

captdownshift (Forum Supporter)
captdownshift (Forum Supporter) GRM+ Memberand UltimaDork
11/16/20 12:50 p.m.

Ebay turbo manifold, turbo, injectors, downpipe, raising rate fuel pressure regulator, fuel pump. 

saruken
saruken Reader
11/16/20 1:20 p.m.