1 2
Maroon92
Maroon92 MegaDork
5/21/14 11:57 a.m.

Prepare yourself, this is going to be a long post. Hopefully I'll write colorfully enough, and include enough pictures, to keep your attention to the end. If not, I'll recap at the bottom with a handful of questions.

Keep in mind, I'm a part-time writer with an advertising degree, not an engineer. If it's a stupid idea, please tell me why it's a stupid idea. I couldn't love GRM or the forum more, but...

For the time being, it would probably be a one-off for personal use, but I have reason to believe that a very small series production of these would sell. Perhaps two or three cars per year? If I want one, someone else probably would, too, right?

Section 1 - Inspiration

I have a strange pull to the 'cars of yesteryear', specifically the 1-off racing specials built by So-Cal speed shops on a wing, a prayer, parts laying around, and practically zero budget. This idea was inspired about a year ago when I was at the Monterey historics looking at some small, lightweight, sport runabouts. Maser Birdcages, and Porsche spyders provided the visual stimuli, but I was drawn to the simplicity of the Denzel 1500s, and was reminded of Chris Runge's Frankfurt Flyer (as well as the original Glocklers).

I wanted to build something that was lightweight, simple, and easy to work on with a reasonable tool kit. Something that would be live-able for street use (with a lot of compromise), but most at home on the track. It wouldn't be the fastest thing in the world, but it would certainly be nimble, and punch well above its weight class. I wanted something that would have been feasible to build in your garage, assuming you were a WWII fighter plane mechanic returning home and needing an adrenaline fix.

Section 2 - The car