dean1484
dean1484 GRM+ Memberand Dork
11/27/09 8:45 p.m.

I have been driving my 924s daily for about 5 years now. This means among other things lots of Boston traffic. I have been thinking that it would be nice to make the clutch a push button deal. With the exception of starting in first this seems easily doable. And with a little more thought even standing starts seem possible.

I have been looking for an electronic ram that I could set up with a second master cylinder that would be T'ed into the pressure side of the clutch system. I would then, with a push of a button, be able to activate the ram that would press on the master cylinder it causing the clutch to disengage. I was going to put a safety switch on the clutch peddle (similar to a brake light switch) that would prevent the electronic clutch switch from working when the clutch pedal is in operation. If both were used at the same time it would blow the slave cylinder apart possibly destroying my clutch.

1. Anyone have a source for the ram that I cold use to activate the master cylinder?

2. I was thinking of installing the back flow reducer that is used in the early WRX's to slow the engagement. Reducing the drive-line shock of instant on off that this would have.

3. I was even thinking of having a electronically selectable valve that could be switched (possibly by gear location selection) that would cause the clutch to engage slower allowing for starts in first gear.

Other than it allowing for faster shifts there is is no real advantage to this system. In essence you could speed shift the car and still use the clutch. It is one of those things that I will probably build just because.

It would make driving around town much easier. The clutch would become a push button affair.

Anyone out there already done this? Any info on sourcing the ram unit would be very helpful.

Anyone know the mechanical force required to operate the master cylinder on a 924s?

Spinout007
Spinout007 GRM+ Memberand Reader