1 2
93EXCivic
93EXCivic SuperDork
10/18/11 3:42 p.m.

So I was asking about limited slip differentials on another forum (Triumph Experience) and I was told by a member (who can be a major troll) that Quaife differentials were crap. Has anyone heard this before or is he talking a load of rubbish?

ransom
ransom GRM+ Memberand HalfDork
10/18/11 3:45 p.m.

I, um... I haven't heard that, but what do I know.

Was it a dismissal of torque-biasing diffs, of Quaife's particular design, or of their manufacturing?

spitfirebill
spitfirebill SuperDork
10/18/11 3:46 p.m.

What? Do you not believe everything Gareth says? I thought they were good but I have no firsthand experience. Gareth makes Worksgarage seem like a very pleasant fellow.

93EXCivic
93EXCivic SuperDork
10/18/11 3:47 p.m.

A certain troll said

Quaife are rubbish. They simply don't work. I've built LSDs for Spitfires for near 30 years inc the original salisbury fitted in the Le Mans car, inc ADU3B. (I used to have one in my road car). The only worthwhile LSD is a PLATE TYPE. There are 2 done in the UK now, (Tranx and Gripper), and another salisbury was remanufactured in Australia for the dolomite. The price is quite high, but sure as anything no-one would ever bring me to lower the price ever again.
93EXCivic
93EXCivic SuperDork
10/18/11 3:48 p.m.
spitfirebill wrote: What? Do you not believe everything Gareth says? I thought they were good but I have no firsthand experience. Gareth makes Worksgarage seem like a very pleasant fellow.

I don't listen to him because he is such a troll. I am just double checking to see if anyone else had heard this or if he was talking a load of E36 M3 again.

scardeal
scardeal HalfDork
10/18/11 4:02 p.m.

I would take a Quaife over
1. An open diff
2. A garden-variety viscous
3. A spool
4. a 2-way only clutch type

I'm thinking I'd go with a 1.5 clutch type over a Quaife, though.

oldtin
oldtin Dork
10/18/11 4:14 p.m.