roninsoldier83
roninsoldier83 GRM+ Memberand Reader
5/17/21 4:52 p.m.

I'm looking for recommendations for a GPS-based lap timer. Suggestions? 

This past weekend, I went out to High Plains Raceway and was using the Track Addict app for my iPhone. I've used it previously without much of an issue... but this weekend, my last session didn't seem to register, or at least not the full track. It registered my "Out-Lap", but all subsequent runs were listed under my "In-lap", with no differentiation between them and it didn't register my position on a decent portion of the track. To be fair, the app warned me that signal was poor; which makes me wonder if that was the issue? 

Either way, I'm considering picking up a GPS-based device (vs cell phone signal) to avoid issues in the future. Recommendations? 

BrewCity20
BrewCity20 New Reader
5/17/21 4:57 p.m.

I'm pretty new at this as well and am curious to see what the veterans have to say. That said, the two I'm considering now are Harry's Laptimer and RaceChrono.

More to your point, I've been considering buying a XGPS160 to supplement my phone's questionable GPS capabilities and actually allow me to get some better data but not have to puchase a whole new set of kit beyond my phone. I'd be curious if anybody can attest to how much better the apps work with that in use.

wake74
wake74 Reader
5/17/21 5:17 p.m.

I run one of the accessory GPS pucks (like an XGPS160 or even that model I don't remember) on my dashboard, that is Bluetooth connected to my Phone and run Harry's.  It refreshes at 10 Hz, verses the Iphone's 1 HZ. Think about how far your car travels in a second at speed, or how far around a corner 1 second duration is.  Getting that data 10 times a second provides a lot better resolution.  I think it has a battery, but I leave it connected to a 12V to USB charger, that has a hardwired switch next to the camera and fan over-ride switch.

CAinCA
CAinCA GRM+ Memberand Reader
5/17/21 6:17 p.m.