singleslammer
singleslammer PowerDork
9/18/17 10:10 a.m.

The seats in the XJR are rough. They are still comfortable but look like hell. Anyone have any suggestions or links on how to cheaply make this seat look better?

Jumper K. Balls
Jumper K. Balls PowerDork
9/18/17 10:17 a.m.

Crispy leather? Stained cloth? Craptastic 80's GM style pillowtop velour? Tears? fading? Stinks of previous owner farts?

Come on man we need a bit more info here? wink

singleslammer
singleslammer PowerDork
9/18/17 10:21 a.m.

This is the drivers seat of my new to me 95 Jaguar XJR-6. The seats are a nice bolstered unit that is Recaro like. I was thinking some sort of vinyl patching but I have never done anything like this before. Anything that will get it looking good without standing out horribly would be great

Dr. Hess
Dr. Hess MegaDork
9/18/17 10:26 a.m.

Recover them.  I've done my RN Truck, the Esprit (RIP), 2 motorcycles.  Just takes time and a couple hundred dollars worth of leather.

Trackmouse
Trackmouse SuperDork
9/18/17 11:30 a.m.

In reply to Dr. Hess :

So the next question would be "how do you go about doing this"? I've searched around and I can't really find any DIY write ups on the Internet about recovering seats. 

Dr. Hess
Dr. Hess MegaDork
9/18/17 11:48 a.m.

Here's what I do:

Buy some leather of the color you want.  I've used "garment" leather, which I think is "3 oz" or so, and easy to work with, and heavier (4-5 oz) leather because that's all they had in black at the place I bought leather from.  I don't think they survived the depression, or are not selling leather anymore.  Anyway, there's plenty on ebay.  Depending on your seats, you will probably need 1 to 2 full hides for 2 front seats.  The Esprit took one full hide and I use everything, including the brand.  It was real tight.  My motorcycle seats, I did in goat (kid) skin, bought on ebay.  Here's the chopper:

Before and after on my dresser: