1 2
Akeaka
Akeaka
1/10/13 2:03 a.m.

Hey all, I'm new to this whole car thing and am looking to buy my first vehicle soon.I live in Marin County, and am looking to move into a business market, so my car have an impact on that. I have a capstone of 10k, but would prefer to stick to $5k or so if possible. I'm looking for something as visually appealing as possible, yet inexpensive in the long run and reliable.

I've had my eye on BMWs for a long time, and the name e36 keeps popping up as a good Bimmer to get, but I've heard they can be money sinks if not taken care of properly. Is it worth while to even consider something like this though? I've got some basic mechanical know how, and am quick to learn, so I'm not too worried about basic repair and maintenance, but I don't want to spend every penny I make on keeping it running.

I'd likely use this car to commute and drive around the city.

Thanks in advance.

foxtrapper
foxtrapper PowerDork
1/10/13 4:48 a.m.

I'm a little confused. Your title says one thing, but your description of a business car is a different thing. Which are you looking for, and what do you need it to do?

JohnRW1621
JohnRW1621 PowerDork
1/10/13 4:54 a.m.

Do you have the cash to buy the car outright or do you need to finance the purchase?
Financing can have a great effect on how old of a car you can go with. Buying outright is the best way.

Travis_K
Travis_K UltraDork
1/10/13 5:13 a.m.

Weren't we just talking about this? http://grassrootsmotorsports.com/forum/grm/70000-jag-for-7000/59002/page1/

dean1484
dean1484 GRM+ Memberand UltraDork
1/10/13 6:53 a.m.

Sexiest car? ok 928 would be on my list.

But from your description go get a Honda civic or accord or a Toyota corola.

Gearheadotaku
Gearheadotaku GRM+ Memberand UltraDork
1/10/13 7:11 a.m.