stealthfighter1
stealthfighter1 Reader
10/29/10 6:00 p.m.

i will be trading my 3rd gen f body (not running) for a 93 (maybe 95?) taurus SHO automatic , with a/c ,nice leather interior and well mantained,(i'm a mechanic and it's my boss's) for my wife to drive , i still have to get all the info on it but what is the general concensus on them ? i don't know all the details on the engine but i know it's a yamaha massaged v6 and all that ...

1988RedT2
1988RedT2 HalfDork
10/29/10 6:09 p.m.

The engine is awesome, but beware the automatic. They had a reputation for going away early.

triumph5
triumph5 HalfDork
10/29/10 6:35 p.m.

In reply to 1988RedT2: And owners have been known to buy good-running, complete SHOs, just to get THAT transmission, so I've read. Very rare tranny, I''ve heard. Now for the engine, it screams power. Deserved to be in a better car. Still, not a bad package, but, yes, that tranny is a weak, expensive link.

grimmelshanks
grimmelshanks HalfDork
10/29/10 6:48 p.m.

get it. theyre fun

RoosterSauce
RoosterSauce New Reader
10/29/10 6:52 p.m.

Sounds like a good deal if it is well-maintained like you say. I almost had a 5 speed SHO couple years ago, but I hesitated too long and someone else snatched it. So I bought something else, and now I can't even remember what. It was weird driving a Taurus that felt like a muscle car, but in a good way. SHO!

Ranger50
Ranger50 Reader
10/29/10 7:15 p.m.

AXOD/AXODE/AX4N/AX4S all equal steaming piles of crap.

Only way I would get it is if it was free. Nickel and dime vehicle plus all the odd SHO parts.

Brian

tuna55
tuna55 Dork
10/29/10 7:18 p.m.

I wouldn't as an only car, but to replace a non running car it sounds fun. They have done OK in Lemons when they don't blow up.

Javelin
Javelin GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
10/29/10 7:44 p.m.