1 2
loosecannon
loosecannon New Reader
2/4/11 11:59 p.m.

I love me some fast cars, just check out my V12 MGB-GT build, but last year my wife and I dragged somebody elses unfinished VW Baja project out of a field and finished it. It's the slowest thing I have ever owned but it's so much fun. Nobody EVER shoots us dirty looks in this car-6 year old girls to 90 year old men, rockers, hiphop guys, bikers, cops, old ladies in walkers..they all love it. And I can floor the throttle and power shift at every light and will never get a ticket for street racing. Here's the car when we got it:

And after we were done:

carguy123
carguy123 SuperDork
2/5/11 12:01 a.m.

That just proves up the old adage that it's more fun to drive a slow car fast than a fast car slow.

One of my most fun cars was a Datsun B110. I was a race car driver every day behind the wheel.

Good looking bug

NickF40
NickF40 GRM+ Memberand Reader
2/5/11 12:08 a.m.

That goes for racing too, the slower cars of the early 2000's on back, compared to today are the best cars and the best to watch and produced the best racing

loosecannon
loosecannon New Reader
2/5/11 12:15 a.m.

Yeh, I had a 300 hp, 2500 lb Porsche 911 that would run 1:07 on the track and it was way more fun than the 2011 911 Turbo I drove recently that easily ran 1:03's. My ex roommates classic Mini was slow but oh-so-much-fun too.

mmosbey
mmosbey GRM+ Memberand New Reader
2/5/11 4:34 a.m.

Looks nice! Is it a '69?

Feedyurhed
Feedyurhed HalfDork
2/5/11 7:13 a.m.

Wow!! You did such a great job on it! I have wanted to do a Baja Bug project forever but just never found the right one. Well done!

paul
paul Reader
2/5/11 7:59 a.m.

Absolutely awesome, well done!

Always wanted a baja bug like that...

Rad_Capz
Rad_Capz Reader
2/5/11 9:20 a.m.

Nice job! Fast is not everything.

mad_machine
mad_machine GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
2/5/11 9:42 a.m.

Looks like an IRS bug.. so 69,70, or 71 to guess by the taillights.