96DXCivic
96DXCivic Reader
10/6/09 9:59 p.m.

Ok so I am designing a suspension system but I am a bit confused on an ideal swingarm length. For maximum grip under acceleration and braking 0 degrees of camber is desired but for cornering 1.5 degrees of camber is best. I guess what I am asking is how quickly do you want to gain camber in vertical deflection?

Salanis
Salanis SuperDork
10/6/09 10:06 p.m.

How do you figure 1.5 degrees of camber? The ideal will depend on how hard you turn in what car.

1.5 is definitely low, though. On the Miata, I'd like to get 2.5 - 3.0 degrees of neg camber when static. And Miatas gain plenty of camber with deflection.

96DXCivic
96DXCivic Reader
10/6/09 10:39 p.m.

That is based on some tire test data I read for FSAE cars. This is a FSAE car I am working on. So I am looking for 2 inches of travel.

mad_machine
mad_machine GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
10/6/09 10:43 p.m.

well, I am no engineer.. nor did I spend any time in a holiday inn express... but isn't roll usually a linier event? If it is, then I would think keeping the arc from 0 degrees to -1.5 smooth

RedS13Coupe
RedS13Coupe Reader
10/7/09 2:37 a.m.

If you want 0 degrees straight line, and 1.5 deg negative in a corner I would say find the compression of the outside suspension under cornering and gain camber as fast as needed to get what you want when you want it?

Ian F
Ian F HalfDork
10/7/09 7:42 a.m.

Not for nothing, but when I design a suspension system (something I do want to do eventually), I plan to buy one or more of the many well written books on the subject. You'll get much more/better info than anyone will have the time or inclination to post here.

Lastly... if you're designing an FSAE car, isn't there a team and instructor involved? For some reason I don't think the answer, "some guy on the web told me..." is what you want to tell you instructor when he asks questions about the design... at least not if you're hoping for a good grade.

alfadriver